Destinations Europe Scotland Travel

Edinburgh in Scotland – A real life Harry Potter world

Edinburgh in Scotland

Edinburgh, the capital of Scotland, is a city that seems straight out of a storybook. Its cobbled streets, gothic architecture, and stunning landscapes make it a popular destination for travelers from around the world. But for fans of Harry Potter, Edinburgh offers a unique experience – a real-life Harry Potter world.

The city played a significant role in the creation of the Harry Potter books. Author J.K. Rowling wrote much of the series in Edinburgh, and the city served as her inspiration for many of the books’ iconic locations. As a result, Edinburgh is home to a wealth of Harry Potter-themed attractions, making it the perfect destination for Potterheads.

Edinburgh in Scotland

The first stop on any Harry Potter-themed tour of Edinburgh is the Elephant House Cafe. This charming cafe is where Rowling famously wrote the first few books in the series. Today, the cafe is a popular spot for Potter fans to grab a cup of coffee and immerse themselves in the world of Harry Potter.

Just a short walk from the Elephant House Cafe is Greyfriars Kirkyard, a cemetery that served as the inspiration for the names of many of the series’ characters. The gravestones bear the names of people like Tom Riddell, who inspired the character of Voldemort, and William McGonagall, who inspired Professor McGonagall.

Edinburgh in Scotland

Edinburgh in Scotland

Nearby is the charming Victoria Street, which is said to have inspired the winding, higgledy-piggledy streets of Diagon Alley. The street is home to many quaint shops, including a Harry Potter-themed shop called Diagon House, where visitors can pick up everything from wands to Hogwarts robes.

Perhaps the most iconic location in Edinburgh for Harry Potter fans is the stunning Edinburgh Castle. The castle served as inspiration for Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, and it’s easy to see why. The castle’s towering walls, turrets, and winding staircases make it a magical place to explore.

Edinburgh in Scotland

Edinburgh in Scotland

Edinburgh in Scotland

Of course, no Harry Potter-themed tour of Edinburgh would be complete without a visit to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter at Universal Studios. Here, visitors can explore iconic locations from the series, ride thrilling rides, and sample delicious treats from the wizarding world. Check out Best places to visit in Edinburgh : Three Days in Edinburgh

Edinburgh is a city that offers a truly magical experience for Harry Potter fans. From the Elephant House Cafe to Edinburgh Castle, the city is full of locations that inspired the world of Harry Potter. So pack your bags, grab your wand, and embark on a journey to Edinburgh – a real-life Harry Potter world.

Related posts

Luxurious Keep at Taj Samudra, Colombo    

admin

Top 5 Cities To Live In Japan For Expats

admin

A day Bruges & Ghent Belgium roadtrip itinerary

admin

Leave a Comment